Reminders from the Health Office

The Cairo-Durham CSD Health Office would like to remind families about the Health Office procedures as they relate to the District's 2020-21 Reopening Plan and COVID-19:

Please remember to take your child’s temperature and complete the daily health screening each day before school.

If your child has been sent home sick from school, you must have a note from the doctor stating the child’s diagnosis and that they may return to school or a negative COVID test must be presented. Read more about the Return to School Protocol from the New York State Department of Health. 

All students must be free of fever, diarrhea and/or vomiting for at least 72 hours without the use of medications to return to school.

If a child has been tested for COVID, he/she must be quarantined at home until there is a negative result. If the result is positive, Public Health will advise parents about a return to school date.

If your child has any chronic conditions that can mimic signs of COVID infection, please make sure the Health Office has written documentation of that condition from your child’s primary care provider.

Please put extra clothes in your child’s backpack.

As the weather gets colder, please make sure your child brings a winter coat to school. The Health Office is not able to lend coats this year. If your child is in need of a winter coat please contact the Health Office.

These policies are in place for the health and safety of all students, faculty and staff members at Cairo-Durham. If you have any questions or concerns regarding these policies, do not hesitate to contact one of the Health Offices or a member of the Cairo-Durham Administrative Team. Contact information can be found below.

Wishing you all a healthy 2020-2021 school year.

The Cairo-Durham Elementary School Health Office Team

Ms. Tracy Selner, RN (tselner@cairodurham.org)
Ms. Bonnie Diamond, RN (bdiamond@cairodurham.org)
Ms. Sheila Clapp, Health Office Assistant (sclapp@cairodurham.org)
Mr. Christopher Stein, Elementary School Principal (cstein@cairodurham.org)
Ms. Danielle Czech, Assistant Principal (dczech@cairodurham.org)

The Cairo-Durham Middle School/High School Team

Ms. Sarah Brown, RN (smyhre@cairodurham.org)
Ms. Stefania Pebler, RN (spebler@cairodurham.org)
Mr. Schips, Middle School Principal (dschips@cairodurham.org)
Mr. Moore, High School Principal (jmoore@cairodurham.org)
Mr. Witazek, Assistant Principal (jwitazek@cairodurham.org)